Susan Stroman

Director & Choreography

A five-time Tony Award winning director and choreographer, her work has been honored with Olivier, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, Lucille Lortel, and a record five Astaire Awards. Most recently she directed the new Off-Broadway play Dot for the Vineyard Theatre. She directed and choreographed the critically acclaimed musical The Scottsboro Boys on Broadway and in the West End, where it was honored with the 2014 Evening Standard’s Ned Sherrin Award. Also on Broadway and the West End, she directed and choreographed The Producers, winner of a record-making 12 Tony Awards and the Olivier Award for Best Musical. Other West End productions include Crazy for You, Show Boat, Oklahoma! for the Royal National Theatre, and the Tony Award winning musical Contact, which she co-created, directed and choreographed for Lincoln Center Theater. Other Broadway credits include Bullets Over Broadway, Big Fish, Crazy for You, Show Boat, Oklahoma!, The Frogs, The Music Man, Thou Shalt Not, Steel Pier, Big, Picnic. Off-Broadway credits include Flora the Red MenaceAnd the World Goes Round, Happiness, and The Last Two People on Earth: An Apocalyptic Vaudeville starring Mandy Patinkin and Taylor Mac. For ten years she choreographed Madison Square Garden’s annual spectacular A Christmas Carol. She made her Metropolitan Opera debut directing and choreographing The Merry Widow, starring Renée Fleming. For the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C, she directed and choreographed the new musical Little Dancer. For New York City Ballet, she created Double Feature, a full-length ballet featuring the music of Irving Berlin and Walter Donaldson, and For the Love of Duke, featuring the music of Duke EllingtonOther ballet credits include But Not For Me for the Martha Graham Company and Take Five…More or Less for Pacific Northwest Ballet. Her choreography received an Emmy Award nomination for the HBO presentation “Liza – Live from Radio City Music Hall,” starring Liza Minnelli. She received the American Choreography Award for her work in Columbia Pictures feature film Center Stage. She directed and choreographed The Producers: The Movie Musical, nominated for 4 Golden Globes. She is the recipient of the George Abbott Award for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater and a member of the Theater Hall of Fame in New York City. 

Return to Cast & Creative